Marquette basketball banquet award winners

Marquette held its annual postseason banquet Wednesday night at the Milwaukee Renaissance Place.

Former MUTV Sports reporter and current sports reporter for WXYZ-TV in Detroit Brad Galli was the emcee for the night’s festivities.

Here is a list of the winners:

Hank Raymonds Sportsmanship award

Presented by: Associate Head coach Tony Benford: Jamail Jones

Winner: Jamail Jones

Dwyane Wade Legacy of Leadership award

Presented by: Associate Head Coach Tony Benford

Winner: Jae Crowder

Standard of Academic Excellence award

Presented by: Adrienne Ridgeway

Winner: Juan Anderson and Jake Thomas

Rebounding Effort award

Presented by: Jamie McNeilly

Winner: Jae Crowder

Create for Others award

Presented by: Scott Monarch

Winner: Junior Cadougan

Sixth Man of the Year award

Presented by: Aki Collins

Winner: Todd Mayo

Most Improved Player award

Presented by: Brad Autry

Winner: Vander Blue

Defensive Player of the Year

Presented by: Bart Lundy

Winner: Jae Crowder and Jamil Wilson

Best Performance in a Supporting Role

Presented by: Barb Kellaher

Winner: Matt Perkins

Wesley Matthews “Just Today” award

Presented by: Wesley Matthews, via video

Winner: Chris Otule

Lazar Hayward “Everyday tough” award

Presented by: Lazar Hayward, via video

Winner: Junior Cadougan

Rob Frozena “We Are Marquette” award

Presented by: Rob Frozena

Winner: Jamil Wilson

Joe Fulce “Where Do You Live” award

Presented by: Joe Fulce

Winner: Derrick Wilson

Jimmy Butler “Only Now Exists” award

Presented by: Jimmy Butler, via video

Winner: Davante Gardner

Most Valuable Performer

Presented by: Brad Galli

Winner: Jae Crowder and Darius Johnson-Odom

Sacrifice for the String award

Presented by: Buzz Williams

Winner: Darius Johnson-Odom

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: General News, Home, Offseason


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.


  1. Daybreak Doppler: Weekday Afternoon Brewers Games Are The Best | - April 12, 2012

    […] Paint Touches has a rundown of the Marquette basketball banquet award winners. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s